Wiltshire Council Where everybody matters

AGENDA

Meeting:	Standards Committee
Place:	The Pratchett Room - County Hall, Trowbridge BA14 8JN
Date:	Wednesday 24 October 2012
Time:	<u>2.00 pm</u>

Please direct any enquiries on this Agenda to Pam Denton, of Democratic Services, County Hall, Bythesea Road, Trowbridge, direct line 01225 718371 or email <u>pam.denton@wiltshire.gov.uk</u>

Press enquiries to Communications on direct lines (01225) 713114/713115.

This Agenda and all the documents referred to within it are available on the Council's website at <u>www.wiltshire.gov.uk</u>

Membership:

Cllr Allison Bucknell Cllr Nigel Carter Cllr Chris Caswill Cllr Ernie Clark Cllr Brian Dalton Cllr Peter Fuller (Vice Chairman) Cllr Howard Greenman Cllr Jon Hubbard Cllr Julian Johnson (Chairman) Cllr Ian McLennan Cllr Carole Soden Cllr Roy While Cllr Christopher Williams

Substitutes:

Cllr Rosemary Brown Cllr Trevor Carbin Cllr Christopher Cochrane Cllr Mary Douglas Cllr Peter Doyle Cllr Nick Fogg Cllr Francis Morland Cllr Christopher Newbury Cllr Ian West

<u>Part 1</u>

Items to be considered when the meeting is open to the public

1 Apologies for Absence

2 **Minutes** (*Pages 1 - 8*)

To confirm the minutes of the meeting held on 30 July 2012 (copy attached).

3 **Declarations of Interest**

To receive any declarations of pecuniary or non-pecuniary interests.

4 Chairman's Announcements

5 **Public Participation and Questions**

The Council welcomes contributions from members of the public.

Statements

If you would like to make a statement at this meeting on any item on this agenda, please register to do so at least 10 minutes prior to the meeting. Up to 3 speakers are permitted to speak for up to 3 minutes each on any agenda item. Please contact the officer named on the front of the agenda for any further clarification.

Questions

To receive any questions from members of the public or members of the Council received in accordance with the constitution. Those wishing to ask questions are required to give notice of any such questions in writing to the officer named on the front of the agenda no later than 5pm on Wednesday 17 October 2012. Please contact the officer named on the front of this agenda for further advice. Questions may be asked without notice if the Chairman decides that the matter is urgent.

Details of any questions received will be circulated to Committee members prior to the meeting and made available at the meeting and on the Council's website.

6 Appointment of non-voting co-opted members.

To appoint the following as non-voting co-opted members of the committee:

Mr Philip Gill MBE JP Mr Paul Neale Mr John Scragg Miss Pam Turner

7 Implementation of New Standards Framework - Update (Pages 9 - 14)

Report by the Monitoring Officer

8 **Procedure for dealing with Code of Conduct Complaints - Assessment Criteria** (*Pages 15 - 20*)

Report of the Monitoring Officer

9 Commission for Local Administration in England and Wales (Local Government Ombudsman) - Annual Report (Pages 21 - 26)

To consider the annual review letter of the Local Government Ombudsman (attached)

10 Status report on complaints (Pages 27 - 28)

Report by the Monitoring Officer for information

11 **Minutes of a Hearing sub-committee** (*Pages 29 - 50*)

To receive and note the minutes of a Hearing Sub-committee held on 3 and 4 October 2012.

- 12 **Forward Plan** (*Pages 51 52*)
- 13 Urgent Items

Part II

Item(s) during consideration of which it is recommended that the public should be excluded because of the likelihood that exempt information would be disclosed

None